I Beg to Differ

See how happy I look?

Hello dear readers.

I’ve often heard that nothing in life means anything if you don’t have anyone to share it with. I beg to differ. I am feeling quite happy and fulfilled in my $500, Spanish colonial-style room with cable TV and A/C. And the hotel has an elevator, which I took to the second floor. I am so easy to please. Cable TV and A/C and I’m feeling high class. That may sound weird since my primary job over the last three years has been to visit upscale resorts, hotels and B&Bs — but on Perilla family vacations, our lodging options were a little more rustic, and TV and A/C were not always present. As for elevators…I think if there’s one thing that characterizes my memories of the hotels we stayed in over the years, it’s stairs. Not 10 or 20, but you know, 300 or 400. I think that’s why we always came back five pounds lighter.

When I first working for Frommer’s, it always made me a little nervous to meet with and dine with hotel managers and owners. Even though I was 22 at the time, I looked like I was 16, and I always felt like they were wondering why Frommer’s sent a teenager. But I’ve gotten used to it now, and have realized that they are actually more scared of me than I am of them. Well, that’s about it for now. I am going to go back to my king bed and TV. It would be nice if I were accompanied, but it’s not so bad alone…no need for Celine Dion after all.



Categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

Leave a Reply

