The Saddest Thing Ever

Today I saw the saddest thing ever. I was on the bus on the way to my cafe, but let me preface the story. On Bogota buses, it’s very common for vendors, singers or guitar players to jump on the bus and sell their product. Well, today, this kid jumped on, must have been 18 at most, and he had a giant bag of pork rinds. He starts to give his shpeel, except he can barely talk and it takes him about 10 seconds to get through every word. At first I thought maybe he had a really bad stuttering problem, but then I noticed his legs were slighly deformed and he had uncontrollable leg and arm movements. So I think he must have cerebral palsy or Parkinsons. That was sad enough. But then when he went through the bus asking if anyone wanted to buy anything, everyone said no. I wish I’d had cash on me :(.



Categories: Bogota, Colombia

Tags: ,

4 replies

  1. You’re breaking my heart, Jiji.

  2. Que tristeza. For all of the problems in the US, at least sick children are well taken care of and not begging on the streets.

  3. jijers that was real sad 😦

  4. This is the saddest thing ever.

Leave a Reply

