A Weekend Among Chickens

My weekend roomates.

I spent my weekend in a farmhouse filled with chicken. 150 chickens, 8 dogs, 1 cat, 6 kittens, 30 parakeets, 10 ducks and 200 hamsters to be exact. To be fair, not all of them lived in the farmhouse, but not being a particularly animal-loving person (despite a childhood obsession with becoming a farmer) I was not pleased that there were animals in the house at all. But I have learned my lesson: Next time a Colombian invites me to a rustic farmhouse I will kindly decline. When my boyfriend invited me to spend the weekend at his friend’s girlfriend’s parent’s farm (complicated, I know) I didn’t hesitate to say yes, even when he told me the farm was a little rustic. However, having lodged in a closet in Athens, the floor of an unattractive passenger ships, and dozens of one star pensiones throughout Europe and Asia, I told him not to worry, I could handle it. When he said rustic, I thought he meant some of the walls needed a new paint job or  the place could use a few more decorations. Little did I know what awaited me.

I won’t go into details, but the weekend included a nervous breakdown (on my part) due to dire living conditions, many beers and whisky shots to forget dire living conditions, the killing of a chicken (which my boyfriend passionately opposed, apparently not realizing the chicken he eats everyday had to be murdered at some point to make it to his plate) and good times in between.



Categories: Colombia, Colombian culture, Colombian men, Travel around Colombia

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. I guess you made the right choice not to go into farming!

  2. My Significant Other and I return to Bogota and to Barichara in a couple of weeks for a two-month visit. I have stayed overnight in places like the one you described. In my case I had the benefit of being under the influence of “the vine” so I didn’t much care about the chicken (who talked to me) or the stray dogs and cats that climbed over me to get to something else. But stone-cold sober – no way!

Leave a Reply

