Updates

I have a 7am class to teach tomorrow, but can’t sleep due to new developments.

First with the good: We finally have an apartment. It’s only 350 square feet and on a fifth floor (no elevator) but it’s still very exciting. I will give a better description/pictures in a couple of days. I’m also now working as an English teacher and going to school, so life is pretty good right now.

Now the bad: After I finished my class, I needed to get over to my boyfriend’s house to sign the lease papers. I thought about taking a taxi, but decided against it because I always get nervous about taking taxis off the street at night (ever since watching a movie called Satanas in which a young woman is raped by a cab driver…). So I decided to take a bus because I figured safety in numbers. Wrong. We were about halfway there when four or five guys with guns and knives got on the bus and demanded that everyone hand over their cell phones.  I was sitting on the first seat in the front, so I was the first person the gun was pointed at and it took me a minute to register what was going on. I was about to call my boyfriend at that moment, and, when the guy asked me for my phone, I told him I was making a call. However, once the gravity of the situation sunk in, (and I realized a gun was involved) I handed over my phone very quickly. Unfortunately, the call must have gone through to my boyfriend, because when I finally got to his house his mom and him were worried because they could hear the whole thing. Luckily, I arrived unharmed and with the newly found knowledge that taking a bus at night is a poor idea.

One girl seemed very upset by the whole thing and was crying and shaken. All the other passenger seemed unmoved, as if this were nothing to get upset about. As for me, I didn’t feel any fear during the incident, but got a little bit nervous afterwards. Well, a lot nervous actually, because I got off the bus as soon as I saw a police station and asked the police officer to hail a cab for me. Anyway, this is apparently a very frequent occurrence in Colombia, especially for bus routes going north.  Lesson learned.



Categories: Bogota, Bogota crime, Colombia

Tags: , ,

3 replies

  1. I’m so glad you are ok and they just wanted cell phones! You are crazy though to think of the importance of calling your boyfriend while a gun is being pointed at you.

Trackbacks

  1. Call of the Wild: A Foxy Showdown on a Hot Wednesday Morning | My (Former) Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

