A New Week, A New Resolution

My new scarf.

To the left you can see my newest scarf creation. This one is a lot better than the first one, though far from perfect. Feel free to send me your Christmas knitted-gift preferences, but please  be aware that I’m currently only certified in scarf and shawl-making.

Because I don’t have many friends here — but I do have a bit of extra time — I’ve decided to start a 12-step program: A new skill every month. This month, I’m learning to knit; next month I’m signing up for oil painting classes, and in May I’ll be learning about the virtues of Meditation and Yoga. I’m currently accepting suggestions for other new-skill activities. (Crocheting? Salsa dancing? Watercolor painting?) I’m mostly looking for activities that require some level of technique, effort and intellectual ability. I also want these activities to be social in nature so that I don’t become a hermit, something I believe I’m at high risk for considering my friend situation.  So even if I have to be around people like Sara Linda — who believes her marriage to a Polish Frenchman make her superior to all other Colombians (and humans in general) — I’m OK with that because sometimes you just need to be around people, even if they’re annoying.

In other news, I’ve decided to start waking up a little bit earlier so I’m not rushing to class then rushing to the office and wishing I’d woken up early. Arriving five minutes early has never been known to kill anyone. I’ve also decided to dedicate 30 minutes to cleaning up every morning. 210 minutes of cleaning (3.5 hours) a week may seem excessive to some, but my boyfriend and I are really good at creating a mess. So I’ve decided to take a containment strategy and hope he catches on.

Lastly, I’ve discovered a new place to study/hang out between classes: McDonald’s Mcafe! While McDonald’s may not conjure images of elegance and tranquility in the U.S., anyone who’s visited McDonald’s abroad knows that this long-time American favorite is actually quite nice abroad. At the Mcafe on Parque 93, I can theoretically enjoy an oreo frappaccino along with a maracuya cheesecake and other similar coffee/baked goods. Plus, they have free wireless! So for just $2 U.S., I can enjoy a lovely view of one of Bogota’s nicest parks while sitting in my leather  booth and enjoying the aroma of fresh-brewed coffee and attractively displayed baked goods.



Categories: Daily Life

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. Hi,
    I follow your blog but don’t really comment. Yes, I know I suck. But today I am! 🙂

    So, a.) I think you should take up salsa dancing. Only because, if you don’t know how already, and you can learn as an adult, then you will be an inspiration to all gringas in Colombia who – every single day – are told by Colombian men that they will teach them to salsa dance. In my experience, these “lessons” generally degenerate into merengue, then reggaeton dancing, and then either mutual disgust or making out to the disgust of everyone else around.

    b.) I spent 2 months in Bogota last year and lived two blocks from Parque 93. I’m American, so was so proud of myself that I didn’t break down and eat any American food. …Until my last week. I had a cold, I was bored, and I was homesick, so I hiked down to that McDonalds. And it was closed due to a power outage. ..And it was the only building in the park with a power outage. I think they didn’t pay the power bill. Doh.

    So yes, I vote for salsa dancing. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Hey Jennifer,

    Thanks for the suggestion! I’m going to try to get my boyfriend to join me for salsa dancing classes, but I have the feeling I’m going to have to go on my own!!

Leave a Reply

