Orange Line Project

I’ve been trying to think of interesting things I can write about in my blog (besides myself…I think this is getting old and I’m just not that interesting) and got the idea the other day to do a sort of photo essay of the D.C metro area by picking a metro line and taking pictures/writing about the neighborhoods within walking distance of each metro stop. It would be interesting to see how neighborhoods change — or stay the same — from Virginia to D.C to Maryland. I’ve decided on the Orange line for two reasons: 1.) It’s the metro line closest to my heart, the one nearest to my house and the one I’ve used most often and 2.) It goes pretty far into the Virginia and Maryland suburbs so I think it will offer a wider range of material. I consulted with my official photographer (my brother) and he liked the idea. However, he and his good camera leave for India in a month so I have to 1.) work fast or 2.) Recruit additional free labor. If any one is interested in joining me for a little suburban/urban exploration, let me know. You are especially welcome if you have a nice camera. And don’t mind working for free. Though you may or may not get a free coffee or even a free lunch depending on how long its been since my last paycheck. Also, if you have any orange line-related images you’d like to share, feel free.

Today’s sneak peek will feature two images from my urban travels this past Sunday. The first is near the Minnesota Avenue Metro stop near the Kenilworth neighborhood in Northeast D.C and the second is near the Clarendon Metro stop in Arlington VA. Please note income data is about three years old. Read more about the Kenilworth/Mahaning neighborhood and gentrification click here.

Murry's, a grocery street in the Mahaning/Kenilworth neighborhood.

Murry’s, a grocery street in the Mahaning/Kenilworth neighborhood.

Near the Minnesota Avenue Stop.

Kenilworth/Mahaning neighborhood near the Minnesota Avenue Stop in NE D.C. Average household income: $45,230

Clarendon neighborhood of Arlington in Northern Virginia. Average household income: $125,000.

Clarendon neighborhood of Arlington in Northern Virginia. Average household income: $125,000.

Clarendon Ballroom, popular Clarendon dance club for the recently graduated.

Clarendon Ballroom, popular Clarendon dance club for the recently graduated.



Categories: D.C, Orange Line Project, The Urban Anthropologist Files, Virginia

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 replies

  1. I can become your official photographer when Ivan leaves us for India. Should be easy since I already live on the orange line 🙂

    • Thank you that would be very nice. Also, if you know of anyone who lives somewhere along the Orange line and they’d be interested in submitted photos that would be great. I think it would be cool if people who actually lived in the communities participated and submitted pictures.

  2. I can help you with Ballston!

Trackbacks

  1. Orange Line Project: Clarendon | A Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

