Boccato: Arlington Gelato and Coffee Shop

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I love coffeehouses. I don’t particularly love coffee, but I’m all about a nice atmosphere and a casual, laid-back ambiance. I love Northside Social, but it’s always bustling, no matter what time you go. Sometimes after a long day at work, all you really want is a comfortable chair (every time I’ve gone to Northside Social I’ve had to settle for a stool). So feeling the need to expand my Arlington coffeehouse database,  I went online and checked out coffeehouse reviews. I saw that a place called Boccato (2719 Wilson Blvd  Arlington, VA 22201, (703) 869-6522) on Wilson Boulevard is highly rated, so I texted my friend Hee-Jin and asked if she’d be interested in joining me.

Unlike Northside Social which seems to attract a very specific age group (let’s say 26 to 35) Boccato attracts a wider age demographic, ranging from small children at the gelato counter to young professionals on a first date to older couples enjoying a good cup of coffee. I’ve read reviews saying that Boccato can fill up quickly, but when I went on a Monday at 7pm there were plenty of empty tables to choose from. My first impression was that it’s a good place for a first date or a get together with friends because it’s quiet enough to be conducive to conversation.

The best way I can describe Boccato is that it feels like a tropical antique furniture shop. It’s eclectically decorated with antique-looking furniture pieces, fake flowers and plants and string lights. It sounds weird, but it works. Seating is a combination of antique-looking wooden tables, rocking chairs, sofas and easy chairs. Walking into Boccato you might think it’s a small little shop because the gelato/coffee counter is a bit small and tight, but it opens up to a relatively large and spacious seating area in the back. Coffee is made at the front counter and there’s a gelato bar with about a dozen flavors. My friend Hee-Jin, who I would describe as a gelato expert, said the gelato is good, but not great. Boccato offers an $8.75 deal which includes a coffee, chips, a relatively large empanada (there’s a Julia’s empanadas here) and a serving of gelato. I had the cappuccino, which was perfectly good, at least to my unrefined taste buds.

So my overall opinion is that this is a nice spot to grab a cup of coffee, indulge in some gelato or grab an empanada…and it’s a good place to get some work done or meet someone one-on-one because it’s quieter and less crowded than Northside Social .

Boccato from the outside.

Boccato from the outside.

Boccato on the inside.

Boccato on the inside.

Some of Boccato's gelato flavors.

Some of Boccato’s gelato flavors.

The gelato counter at Boccato.

The gelato counter at Boccato.

The counter at Boccato.

The counter at Boccato.

Seating at Boccato.

Seating at Boccato.

More seating.

More seating.

Fake flowers at Boccato.

Fake flowers at Boccato.

Picking out a flavor at the gelato counter.

Picking out a flavor at the gelato counter.



Categories: D.C Culture, Reviews, Suburbs, The Urban Anthropologist Files

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

