The Mystery of the Religious Station Wagon at Centreville Public Library

If you’ve spent a significant amount of time at the Centreville Public Library as I have, you’ve probably noticed a mysterious but very religious station wagon parked near the entrance of the library, usually in the same spot. Because I’ve found the car parked here at all times of the day, I’ve inferred that the owner 1.) Doesn’t work, 2.) Has a job with unconventional hours or 3.) Is a library employee. Today I parked next to the mysterious religious station wagon before going into the library to pick up some holds and I decided to do a little investigating and try to figure out who the owner of the car was. I will be honest and say I made some perhaps stereotypical assumptions and am guessing 1.) The owner is a man (why I assume this, I don’t know),  2.) He is probably middle-aged and 3.) He probably has a bushy beard.

So I casually strolled through the library looking for a man who might own a religious station wagon and encountered two likely candidates. The first was a red-haired man with a beard who was looking up vintage furniture on a library computer and the other was a short man wearing a t-shirt with a logo that suggested he may very well own a religious station wagon. However, I wasn’t able to come to any definitive conclusions. When I went back to my car I decided to take a few pictures of the car. I will be honest…my heart was beating fast and hard because I thought the owner of the station wagon might come out at any moment and he might not be the kind of person who would appreciate my photographic interest in his car. But then again, I can only assume that this person’s whole point is to draw attention to his car, so I convinced myself I could make a reasonable argument for my picture-taking if he did catch me.

Anyway, I figured I’d post these on here to see if anyone out there has any idea what religion the station wagon represents. There is an e-mail on the station wagon so if I’m feeling brave I might just might put together an e-mail in hopes of clarification and enlightenment.

Biblical scriptures and a curious contraption on the rear of the car.

Biblical scriptures and a curious contraption on the rear of the car.

I looked up the Alpha-Omega symbol to see if I could figure out if it symbolized a specific religion, but it's a symbol for Christ's eternal life.

I looked up the Alpha-Omega symbol to see if I could figure out if it symbolized a specific religion, but it’s a symbol for Christ’s eternal life.

If you look closely, one of these signs says "American  Exceptionalism: Freedom for everyone except the Biblical Minority. Except the Alpha-Omega symbol tells me this is probably a Christian car and I always thought the biblical minority were the Jewish people. So who could be the biblical minority who are not experiencing American freedom?

If you look closely, one of these signs says “American Exceptionalism: Freedom for everyone except the Biblical Minority. Except the Alpha-Omega symbol tells me this is probably a Christian car and I always thought the biblical minority were the Jewish people. So who could be the biblical minority who are not experiencing American freedom?

Whatever religion this is refers to God as Yeshua, which is a Hebrew word. However, it seems that the Messiah Yeshua is not fully God. What does that mean???

Whatever religion this is refers to God as Yeshua, which is a Hebrew word. However, it seems that the Messiah Yeshua is not fully God. What does that mean???

 

 

 

 



Categories: Mysteries, Suburbs

Tags: , ,

7 replies

  1. Jisel:

    Very odd. I doubt you had to worry that the owner would object your taking pictures. More likely the person would be very happy to explain his/her specific interpretation of Biblical theory.

    Alpha and Omega predates Christianity, originating in Greek mysticism. The ancient Greek connection is probably why most Christians don’t use the symbol often. Yeshua is a Hebrew term for the Messiah used during the Second Temple Period. It is not commonly used by most Christians sects.

    “God is not Three Persons” most closely resembles Mohammad’s comment, “God is One, say not Three” I doubt that the person is a Moslem though.

    While I’m not familiar with every small Christian sect such as Seventh Day Adventists, I suspect that your station wagon owner is a congregation of one.

  2. People! (are so weird) If you do meet him, just make sure you don’t get sucked into an hours-long talk and get invited to his house and no matter what you do, DON’T give him your number. I’m sure he’d love to chat your ear off with his theories well into the middle of the night. Give yourself a 5-minute maximum 🙂

  3. I tutor at the library twice a week and I see the man very often. He wears a hat and a t-shirt containing text front and back similar to the quotes that are on his car. He’s an elderly man, probably in his 60s-early 70s, with no beard…rather short, and I think he wears sunglasses…but that detail I can’t remember. I’m almost positive he works at the library because I’ve seen him pushing carts containing books behind the desk.

  4. He is saying that Jesus (Yeshua) Christ (Messiah) is Lord, and not God, as the trinitarians have made Him out to be. Jesus said in Revelations 3:12 “The one who is victorious I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will they leave it. I will write on them the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which is coming down out of heaven from my God; and I will also write on them my new name.” In the Gospels Jesus is quoted as saying “I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God” John 20:17. Furthermore, when Jesus Christ was dying on the cross, His last words were, “’Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?’ (which means ‘My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?’)” Matthew 27:46. See? Jesus’s God is the Father. Jesus Christ is the mediator between humanity, and Father God. Jesus is the Lamb, the sacrifice for the sin of humanity, so that we may be reconciled with Father God. That is why Jesus is the Messiah. I say this because Jesus changed my life. I made a webpage to share what happened to me, if you are interested. Much love!
    http://www.helaughsatfear.com/

Leave a Reply

