I Spent $8 at Eastern Market…and Got All This!

I went to visit my sister in D.C today and we stopped by Eastern Market around 4:30 to do a little browsing. When we went to check out the farmer’s market, a big, burly, bearded, tattooed guy was shouting “$1 sale! Cantaloupes $1 a piece, peaches and tomatoes $1 a pound, strawberries $1 a box!” So we rushed the fruit and vegetable stands, waited in line for 10 minutes, had our produce weighed and voila! For $8 I bought a cantaloupe, two boxes of strawberries, five ears of corn, three giant tomatoes and a bunch of peaches! It was the most exciting moment of my day. I don’t know if this kind of thing is common at farmer’s markets right before closing, but I’m feeling pretty lucky right now, like I’ve discovered some kind of secret.

My purchases, and Milo looking tempted.

My purchases, and Milo looking tempted.



Categories: D.C, D.C Culture, D.C Neighborhoods

Tags: , , , , ,

7 replies

  1. I just discovered a Turkish market 5 minutes from my flat and had a similar come up last week, I planned to write about it also! Isn’t it crazy how much fresh fruit and veggies you can get when you get out of the big supermarkets… 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Orange Line Project: Eastern Market I: Capitol Hill Books and Frager’s Hardware Store | A Nomad Life
  2. Orange Line Project: Eastern Market III | A Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

