Blonde in a Thong

Cruising down 66 on the way to Low Water Bridge Campground, about an hour from Fairfax in the Shenendoah region.

Cruising down 66 on the way to Low Water Bridge Campground, about an hour from Fairfax in the Shenandoah region.

When Northern Virginians go out in nature, they generally like going to Skyline/Shenandoah National Park, a nice, scenic area with mountains, rivers, water falls and lots and lots of nature-y things.This weekend I went camping at Low Water Bridge Campground with some friends. It was my first time camping in a long time and I’d forgotten some of the downsides of camping: The bathrooms are usually less than hygienic, the ground is lumpy (lots of roots and pebbles…much more noticeable when you have a Wal-Mart tent and you’re getting old) AND you have to make your own fire for cooking and put up your own tent. That’s a lot of work for a relaxing weekend. But we had a great, eventful weekend despite the downsides.

Several exciting and interesting things happened:

1.) A dog fight broke out between a German shepherd, a pit bull and a beagle. The beagle lost and it was very hard to watch :(.

2.) We saw a few tourists on kayaks crash into the bridge over the Shenandoah River. It had rained so much that the Shenandoah River, usually the slowest moving river on earth, was moving so fast kayakers were crashing into the bridge left and right.

3.) A truck got stuck in the mud right by our campsite. We didn’t help it get out.

4.) Our neighbors to the left played Reggaeton all day. Our neighbors to the right had a drum circle/dance party late into the night. This was probably our karma for not helping the truck get out of the mud. But I thought it was nice that everyone was having such a good time.

5.) I got harpooned by a picnic table. I was getting up and was stabbed in the leg by a giant piece of wood (well maybe giant isn’t the right word…but it was at least an inch wide and three inches long). I had to perform surgery on myself. It was unpleasant.

6.)  We saw a sight rarely seen in America. It involved a thong. See pictures below for more information.

The water wasn't so low at Low Water Bridge Campground.

The water wasn’t so low at Low Water Bridge Campground.

The campground store at Low Water Bridge campground.

The campground store at Low Water Bridge campground. When we were little,my family would camp for two weeks every summer all over the East Coast and Canada. We loved our camping vacations because it was our one time of relative freedom during the year: My sister, brother and I would ride our bikes in circles around the campground, visiting the camp store at least 10 times a day to buy sweet tarts, Slim Jims, sodas and cheesy souvenir knickknacks.

Fun times on the Shenendoah River.

Fun times on the Shenandoah River. We didn’t actually go tubing or kayaking, but it was nice to have the option.

Tubing and kayaking on the Shenendoah River.

Tubing and kayaking on the Shenandoah River. Maybe next time! There was a kayak/tube rental venue at the campground, but there are also plenty of venues in the region.

Shenendoah River.

Shenandoah River was much higher than usual.

The Shenendoah River and a barn.

The Shenandoah River and a barn. I love the mountains and this region of Virginia. It reminds me of the Valle de Anton in Panama.

Campfires.

Campfires. Everyone seems to have them, but they are very work intensive.

View of the mountains and a barn on my country roads walk.

View of the mountains and a barn on my morning walk. I was having a great time walking and enjoying the view. I was bordered by the Blue Ridge Mountains and the Shenandoah River on one side and by dense upland forest on the other. Not a house or person in sight…just a nice gravel road and nature. Until I started thinking that there were no people, houses or civilization around and if someone kidnapped me no one would know where to look for me. So I ran back to the campsite (very slowly).

Hee-Jin and Cindy couldn't believe what they saw.

We were happily eating queso and chips (I seriously overdid it) and we saw something on the horizon. Hee-Jin and Cindy couldn’t believe what they saw.

Utter disbelief. This can't be happening.

They were in total and utter disbelief.

Rasha was shocked.

Rasha was shocked…

Because there was a girl playing volleyball in a thong! At a family campground. My friends felt it was inappropriate in America. I was mostly jealous.

…because there was a girl playing volleyball in a thong! At a family campground in America.Not Europe…not Brazil. My friends felt it was inappropriate. I was mostly jealous because I could never pull this look off.

Believe it or not, the game attracted a lot of male players.

What do you know…this particular volleyball game attracted a lot of male players. Thong girl was the scandal of the decade at Low Water Bride Campground.



Categories: D.C Side Trips, DC Area Outdoors Activities

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 replies

  1. You say “I was mostly jealous because I could never pull this look off.” Why not? Yo creo que podrias intentarlo.

  2. Wow. I say, go thong girl! Good for her. I would never be able to do that.

  3. Had to laugh… we are off on a camping trip for the next couple of days with our grandkids on the Oregon Coast. The smores are packed. I’m not expecting any thongs but most of your other experiences are likely to happen. 🙂 –Curt

  4. OMG! I love that you caught that on camera!

  5. Blue Ridge Mountains and Shenandoah River – only ever heard of them in a John Denver song. It looks like a place I’d like to visit. The thong, on the other hand … that’s pretty commonplace where I’m from. And maybe sometimes it should be less so!

  6. its funny cuz how can that be inappropriate when there is a guy in the far corner of the picture there is a guy in light blue short shorts.

  7. Hi! I’m from Brazil. I’m proud girls in U.S. now go in litlle bikinis for volleyball. Here it’s very common. Even my wife, who is 35 years old, use to go in even small thongs when we go to play. We live far from the beaches, but it’s not a problem here!

Trackbacks

  1. Search terms: June Edition | A Nomad Life
  2. Of Searches and Hits: When Not to Wear a Thong and the Chubby Hiker | My (Former) Nomad Life
  3. Death of a Blog; or Google, Why Have You Abandoned me? | My (Former) Nomad Life
  4. Thanks a lot, Miley Cyrus | My (Former) Nomad Life
  5. Buck Mountain Road and Proper Wine Glass Holding Etiquette « My (Former) Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

