An Urban Bike Ride: Georgetown to Mount Pleasant

Today I went on my first real urban bike ride in D.C. I’ve biked on designated biking/jogging trails in the past, but I’ve always been terrified of biking alongside cars. But today my dad and I decided to brave the streets of D.C and rode our bikes from the Georgetown Waterfront to the Mount Pleasant neighborhood, stopping at Dupont and Adams Morgan along the way (we took M Street to 27th to O to Florida To Columbia Road to Mount Pleasant Street). It was probably a six or seven mile ride round-trip — moderately uphill there and mostly downhill back. I was expecting to feel a little overwhelmed biking on the road, but I actually felt pretty safe; there were designated bike lanes throughout most of the ride and even when we had to share the lane with cars, I felt pretty safe. I don’t know if this was because it was Saturday and there was less traffic than usual or if D.C motorists are used to sharing the road with cyclists. Either way, it wasn’t nearly as scary as I thought it would be. It was fun to see the city from another angle and made me seriously want to move to D.C or a more urban area…I think I’d be much more physically active than I am here in the suburbs.

As soon as we took the bikes off the rack, it became apparent that my tires had no air. Luckily, my dad was around to pump my tires up. This pictures was taken at Georgetown bike shop. The cashier was having a long conversation with his mom (who was very concerned about him coming over for dinner in his dirty work clothes) but once he got off the phone, he kindly let us borrow is air pump.

As soon as we took the bikes off the rack, it became apparent that my tires had no air. Luckily, my dad was around to pump my tires up. This picture was taken at a Georgetown bike shop. The cashier was having a long conversation with his mom (who was very concerned about him coming over for dinner in his dirty work clothes) but once he got off the phone, he kindly let us borrow the shop’s air pump.

Georgetown shops. Nightmare biking around Georgetown -- there are literally thousands of people everywhere and tons of cars.

Some Georgetown shops. It’s kind of a nightmare biking around Georgetown — there are literally thousands of people everywhere and tons of cars. For those unfamiliar with D.C, Georgetown is a very upscale, posh neighborhood near the Arlington County border. Sorry this picture’s a little crooked…

My dad biking down a Georgetown alley.

My dad biking down a Georgetown alley. There are a lot of cool, colorful little allies in Georgetown.

The fountain at the Georgetown Waterfront. There are always a bunch of happy kids playing in the fountain. This kid was entranced by the water.

The fountain at the Georgetown Waterfront. There are always a bunch of happy kids playing in the fountain. This kid was entranced by the water. The Potomac River and the Kennedy Center are in the background.

Kids playing at the Georgetown Fountain. Can you imagine a happier place on a hot summer day if you're a six year old kid?

Kids playing at the Georgetown Fountain. Can you imagine a happier place on a hot summer day for a six-year-old kid?

The park at Dupont Circle. A lovely way to spend a few hours on a warm summer day. Lots of people picnicking, reading, meeting up with friends and just hanging out.

The park at Dupont Circle. A lovely way to spend a few hours on a warm summer day. Lots of people picnicking, reading, meeting up with friends and just hanging out.

Kids hula-hooping while The Originators, a Ska/Punk/Raggae band, perform. This groups was part of the free Adams Morgan summer concert series held every Saturday evening in front of the BB&T Bank in the Adams Morgan Neighborhood. We stopped to enjoy the concert for a few minutes and somehow allowed ourselves to get talked into "making a committment to comit to being volunteers at Adams Morgan Day in September. We did get free t-shirts out of it!

Kids hula-hooping while The Originators, a Ska/Punk/reggae band, perform. This group was part of the free Adams Morgan Summer Concert Series held every Saturday evening in front of the BB&T Bank in the Adams Morgan Neighborhood. We stopped by to enjoy the concert for a few minutes and somehow allowed ourselves to get talked into “making a commitment to think about committing to being volunteers at Adams Morgan Day in September. We did get free t-shirts out of it!

Me, looking extremely nerdy at Lamont Park in Mount Pleasant. My dad said "Se parece a esa de New Jersey con ese pelo" (You look like that girl from New Jersey with that hair). Basically, he was comparing me to Snookie.

Me, looking extremely nerdy at Lamont Park in Mount Pleasant. My dad said “Se parece a esa de New Jersey con ese pelo” (You look like that girl from New Jersey with that hair). Basically, he was comparing me to Snookie. Mount Pleasant is a great little neighborhood adjacent to Columbia Heights and Adams Morgan. More about this neighborhood in a future post!

My dad, ready for the Tour-de-France. Ever since he visited my brother in Denmark, my dad has wanted a Bern Helmet. He requested a bright yellow one for Father's Day, and my sister disapprovingly complied.

My dad, ready for the Tour-de-France. Ever since he visited my brother in Denmark, my dad has wanted a Bern Helmet. He requested a bright yellow one for Father’s Day, and my sister disapprovingly complied. I guess cars can’t miss him.

I love this scene: A guy with a baby looking at his iphone -- Dos Amigos Restaurant and Cafe on one side and an antique shop on the other. This is on Mount Pleasant Street, the main commercial street in Mount Pleasant.

I love this scene: A guy with a baby looking at his iPhone — Dos Gringos Restaurant and Cafe on one side and an antique shop on the other. This is on Mount Pleasant Street, the main commercial street in Mount Pleasant.

More on my D.C adventures here.



Categories: Biking, D.C, D.C Culture, Outdoors

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 replies

Trackbacks

  1. Mount Pleasant: A Small Town Feel and Sabor Latino Light. | A Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

