People in Iceland Believe in Elves

I was reading some Slate blogs today and I learned that in Iceland, a large percentage of the population believes in elves. How seriously do they take these believes? According to the article, “… road crews in Iceland occasionally hire folklore experts to determine if certain boulders are home to elves. If little people are thought to live in the rocks, crews divert the road around the rock.” I’d say that’s pretty serious. I wish I believed in elves. So romantic and comforting to believe that little tiny people are living under rocks and boulders and an entire, beautiful and secret world is going on, parallel to our own. In Colombia, some people truly believe in witches, curses and other-worldly forces. A small but signficant percentage  of the U.S population believes in UFOs and people all over the world believe in ghosts. Where do these beliefs come from and what do they mean? You can read more about Iceland’s Elf School

An Elf.

An Elf. Courtesy of travelninemsn.com.au

Reading this article reminded me that I haven’t traveled in quite a while. I was in Miami about a year and a half ago and I’ve been to New York a couple of times over the last year, but I haven’t really had a full-blown vacation in a while. So I did a little brainstorming and decided these are the places I’d like to visit over the next three years.

1.) Chicago

2.) Minneapolis

3.) Austin

4.) Madison

5.) Portland and Acadia National Park

6.) Eastern Canada

7.) Iowa

8.) France

9.) New Zealand

10.) Mexico

11.) England

Nothing particularly out of the ordinary, but if anyone is up for traveling to any of these places, let me know!



Categories: Mysteries, Observations

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. You could always take a holiday to Elf School!

Leave a Reply

