My Walking Life

It’s been a crazy week so I haven’t had time for blogging, but I wanted to share this with anyone who is interested…

So good for you!

So good for you!

As someone whose favorite form of exercise is walking, I was happy to see this poster. My cousin posted it on her Facebook, and I stole it to post on my blog. I don’t know that I believe that walking burns more fat than jogging, but I’m willing to buy the rest. I started walking when my husband and I split up and I haven’t stopped yet. During those dark days I’d walk up to two hours and find myself in a calm, serene, trance-like state (is this what they call meditation)? Nowadays, I just find it very calming. I take a 30 minute walk everyday on my lunch break and it helps me feel re-energized and refocused and I try to walk places when it’s possible.  It’s one of those things that’s great for your body AND soul because 1.) You’re burning calories and giving your body a light but significant workout and 2.) You are going slowly enough to be able to enjoy your surroundings (vegetation, birds chirping, fellow walkers/bikers/joggers, the feel/smell of the air, etc). I swear, I don’t secretly work for a walking lobby. I just love walking.



Categories: Body Image, Me, Me, Me, Self-improvement

Tags: , , , , ,

12 replies

  1. I walk so much every day to and from work so this makes me so happy!!

    <3, Charlotte

  2. I agree with you I walk every evening it is very soothing!

  3. Yes to ALL of this! Now that it’s been 80 and not 110 I’ve been doing 5 mile walks everyday. Join me??

  4. Have you tried a combination of walking with weights to build arm strength? It is called shopping and really most pleasurable.

Leave a Reply

