I Have Become One Of Those People Who Take Too Many Pictures Of Their Food

Again, a warning this post is all about food/exercise and therefore probably very boring.

Countdown to Colombia: 10 days

Days since Pre-Colombian boot camp started: 8

Pounds lost: 7 (?!?!) I know it’s probably all water weight, but I’m feeling pretty good about that.

Number of times I’ve done Zumba since starting healthy lifestyle: 5 (3 at home with overly excited YouTube lady, 2 at a couple different dance studios).

What’s working: I stopped eating pasta and rice and I’m only having bread a couple times a week. I’ve also inadvertently stopped eating processed sugar, except for a couple bites of dessert and dark chocolate here and there. I’ve found that I don’t crave sugar/junk food as much now that I’ve cut out most starches.

What’s not working: Ridiculously cold weather that makes outside exercise impossible. Only 53 more days until spring (and bike riding weather) officially begins.

Anxiety about Grandma fat comments and fat reduction surgical recommendations: High

So overall, I’m feeling pretty positive. I’m exercising and eating much better and I feel like I’m starting 2014 on the right foot, even though I still haven’t tried the Insanity DVDs my friend lent me, mostly because of this warning:

I don't think I'm ready for this...

I don’t think I’m ready for this…

I feel like I need to get in better shape before I can try/commit to something with that kind of warning label.

But moving on to the food portion of this entry…as the title of this post implies, I’ve become one of those people who takes pictures of every meal I make. I’m not a big recipe follower and don’t have the patience for  fancy/complicated recipes, so I always just make do with whatever I have at home. This means that some of my creations may be considered, let’s say, slightly inedible by others. But I still feel proud, mostly because I’ve progressed from the microwave to the stove.  And say that’s a pretty big step.

Lentils with celery, tomato, cumin, turmeric, garlic, onion, pepper, lean ground beef and carrots.

Lentils with celery, tomato, cumin, turmeric, garlic, onion, pepper, lean ground beef and carrots. Being a non-recipe follower, I generally end up making enough food for an army because I never measure anything. Oh well, at least I’ll have left overs for the next week.

Egg white omelette with spinach, onion, edemame, turmeric, garlic and cumin.

Egg white omelette with spinach, onion, chicken, edamame, feta cheese, turmeric, garlic and cumin. Vegetables are a lot more edible when they are semi-hidden

Healthy breakfast...cottage cheese with honey (my new best friend), egg white omelette with onion and corn with avocado, rye bread with avocado, baby carrots and green tea.

Healthy breakfast…cottage cheese with honey (my new best friend), egg white omelette with onion, corn and avocado, rye bread with avocado, baby carrots and green tea.



Categories: Body Image, Me, Me, Me, Self-improvement

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

