Gettysburg, PA

If you read my blog relatively frequently, you know I enjoy small town exploration. This past weekend I went to the town of Gettysburg, PA with a friend and we visited the Battlefield and the town of Gettysburg. It was a cold, windy, somewhat cloudy day for small town exploration, but it’s been almost 20 years since I last went to Gettysburg, so it seemed like a good plan. While we were walking around Gettysburg, I started thinking about what makes a small town a great; I don’t know if it was the weather or the fact that Battlefields and the Civil War aren’t exactly my thing, but I found Gettysburg to be a kind of, I don’t know, downtrodden? Somber? Grey? kind of place. I guess you could say I kind of felt like I was in a Tawni O’dell novel.  Sorry if I’m offending any Gettysburgians out there….maybe I would’ve liked the town a lot more on a sunny summer day? 

Gettysburg Farm House

I learned that Ike Eisenhower owned a house at the Gettysburg Battlefield and this is the barn. I really like rural vistas, mountains and old historic structures, so I actually really enjoyed this part of the trip. Very bucolic and peaceful. 

Gettysburg FARM

A structure on Ike Eisenhower’s Gettysburg farm. He had a nice mountain view!

Gettysburg farmlands

View from the Gettysburg Battlefield. Not too shabby!

Gettysburg IKE House

Eisenhower’s house. Strangely enough (because I have no interest in home decorating or houses in general) I really enjoy house tours. Maybe it’s just something about imagining I’m living another kind of life?

Gettysburg town 3

The “square” in Gettysburg. It’s actually a circle, by the way. This is probably the nicest part of the town. Everything looks good in the picture, but for some reason, the town just didn’t do it for me.

Gettysburg town 4

Statue of Abraham Lincoln and someone else. I’m not sure who the other guy is.

gettysburg town 5

Another view of the square.

gettysburg town 6

Is it just me, or is “Gettysburg Hotel Grand Ballroom” a little bit ambitious for this place? Looks more like the Gettysburg Town Grand Prison to me….

gettysburg town 7

York Street.

gettysburg town 8

Historic Gettysburg street.

Gettysburg town 9

Historic Gettysburg houses.

Gettysburg town 10

If anyone is interested in moving to Gettysburg, this house is up for rent. And it’s managed by the Ameridream Realty company. The American dream can be yours in downtown historic Gettysburg!

Gettysburg town 11

Old, rundown historic Gettysburg property.

Gettysburg town Civil War

Like any Civil War town, you can buy plenty of Civil War paraphernalia in Gettysburg. Like in this shop, dedicated almost exclusively to Civil War-related products.

Gettysburg town

And if you want to go antiquing, you can always try this place out.

 



Categories: The Urban Anthropologist Files

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

