8 replies

  1. After working 29 years, let me give you some unsolicited advice. A job isn’t what people tell you it is. The only purpose of a job is to pay for your life, preferably without sucking all the life out of you in the process. Find something that does make you unhappy, that fulfills you if possible, but mainly use it to pay for the happiness you’ll find in the other 128 hours per week.

    I have a career, it pays well, but I wish I’d spent 1/2 that time somewhere else chasing rainbows instead. The goal of life should be to leave as few “if onlys” on the plate as possible.

    • Thanks for the comment! I just need to figure out how to find a job that pays the bills but gives me the freedom to travel and write without leaving me drained and without energy/motivation. I think I need to start looking into freelancing more seriously.

  2. If you are looking for the “outdoor” life, you should add the Northwest and the Southwest to your regions to explore. I’ve travelled extensively over the years looking for similar places to hang out and ended up in southern Oregon. New Mexico is great as well. As for career paths, do what is right for you, not someone else. –Curt

Trackbacks

  1. Stepping Stones « My (Former) Nomad Life
  2. From a Moving Window « My (Former) Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

