From a Moving Window

Hello Blog Readers,

I wrote recently about my geographic commitment problems; I want to live near my family in D.C, but I also want to live in some remote corner of Idaho, in California’s Central Valley, a small New England village or some perpetually sunny and rainless southwestern town. There’s really no limit to the kind of place I’d want to live. But alas, I’m only one person and can only be in one place at once.

After I posted an entry I titled Bogota from a Taxi Cab Window, which featured photographs of Bogota for a 40 or 50 block stretch, I started thinking that this kind of project might be kind of interesting. People and places are always on the move and to me, it’s the unstaged, ordinary pictures and moments that are the most authentic and can tell you most about a place. So I started thinking that it would be kind of cool to add a new section to my blog where I could post people’s photographs of places they live or visit, but more specifically, pictures from some mode of transportation, be it bus, train, cab, car (but please, not while you’re driving) or just walking…just ordinary pictures of ordinary places taken by ordinary people during their commute, on an errand, walk, on the way somewhere, etc. I’m not a very good photographer myself and just use my iphone camera, so I’m not looking for anything particularly good or artistic; I guess in a way I’m looking for a way to satisfy my own wanderlust and get some kind of understanding of what regular, everyday life is like in other places.

Some of you out there who seem particularly adventurous or photographically inclined may have heard from me; if you haven’t heard from me but are interested in participating, feel free to comment or email me at lavieenrosewordpress@gmail.com. No place is too boring or too small for me. In fact, the smaller, more dismal, boring, desolate and middle of nowhere and specific the place is, the more interested I am, and this can take the form of cities, towns, villages, midde-of-nowhere hikes or car rides, neighborhoods, streets, etc. I can’t really promise you anything in return except very, very moderate exposure (10,000 hits on a good month) but I’d be happy to include links to your website/work and a biography and contact information if you’d like. So if you’re interested feel free to contact me!

Thank you!

This is an example of the kind of thing I'm looking for. This was taken from the back seat of a Bogota cab. I'm interested in photos taken from cars, trains, buses, trolleys, airplanes, even pictures taken on foot. Basically, if you're in movement I'm interested.

This is an example of the kind of thing I’m looking for. This was taken from the back seat of a Bogota cab. I’m interested in photos taken from cars, trains, buses, trolleys, airplanes, even pictures taken on foot. Basically, if you’re in movement I’m interested.



Categories: From a Moving Window

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. From a Moving Window: Rolfe, Iowa « My (Former) Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

