13 replies

  1. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I agree with you – there’s just something missing from DC. It just doesn’t seem as authentic as other cities; or maybe authentic isn’t really the word, but it’s the closest word to express my gut feeling about it.

    • Maybe it’s that most people are from somewhere else and/or most people come/ stay for a job rather than love of the city? Seems like people move to New York because they love the city, Phoenix for love of sun, Miami because of the beaches and rural areas for the beauty and solitude with the job being secondary. Not really sure exactly what it is, but I don’t think it’s something only I notice. Thanks for the comment!

      • I think you are right.D.C. is a soulless city.It attracts ultra-driven career obsessed people that don’t seem to enjoy their lives.If you’re from the Midwest or South chances are you will hate D.C.

      • But somehow, every year, D.C and the D.C area comes out on top of happiness surveys! I think that if you are a driven person whose primary focus is career, you’re going to be very happy in a city like D.C. I think it’s type B or creative/artsy types…or just those who don’t have concretely define career goals that have some trouble with the D.C area.

  2. Thahnks so much for following “Visionary Views”, an offshoot of my main blog “Tales for Life”. I stopped by as I like to see who is following and to express appreciation–and found a very interesting blog belonging to you. Enjoyed your pictures and prose. I now am following yours. I have family living in ASporingfield, VA and always enjiy my visits to the area. Happy spring and best regards.

  3. I’ve been here for 10 years and working at an organization with folks who have lived here all of their lives there is a strong sense of community. It’s so wonderful. I have found my own sense of community within where I live, my job(s), my friends.. I think it’s about what you do and who and what you seek out. There is a strong sense of community no matter where you live – you just have to find it. For our generation – it really lies in the Cohi/Dupont, Adams Morgan, Shaw neighborhoods. And you just have to find the right blogs, networks to find what works for you. My two cents 🙂

  4. I grew up in Prince William County, spend the last 12 years in Fairfax (Springfield) and sold my home last autumn during the real estate pop. In the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and most of the 90’s I would not have remotely considered living anywhere else in the world, Northern VA was a great place to live and raise your children. I spent 48 years there, a lifetime, but it’s not Virginia anymore, more like New York city, the drivers are insane you take your life in your hands just pulling out of your driveway, people are for the most part rude and transplanted from elsewhere, my neighbor was an evangelical nutcase from Kansas that had no respect for our privacy, enough was enough. I moved to the Portland Oregon area, traffic is still bad but not that bad, drivers are much nicer and the culture blows the East Coast away. Never going back and I don’t regret it for a second, good riddance.

    • Just came across your comment and laughed. I think you’ve captured every NOVA gripe in one short paragraph! I hope Portland is treating your well. That’s one of the places I’ve casually considered moving to. Definitely think I’d enjoy a more laid-back, type-B city more than I enjoy D.C. I’m just not ambitious or career-oriented for this place!

  5. I moved here from California and I have had a really hard time adjusting. I am planning on moving back west as soon as I can. I suspect that DC even more then NY is really “top” heavy, there’s this oppressive feeling everywhere you go. I mean there’s nothing like the Pentagon Metro Stop at 8 a.m. to make me feel a certain sense of fatality. The work force here seems to be amazing so its ironic, there’s SO many millennials who are educated and driven its this weird juxtaposition. We pretty much are the majority of the workforce but most of us work for the very powerful elite. My family is from the Bay Area so some times I cant understand why there isn’t more vibrancy, I think in my mind that implies a certain rebellion, its disappointing though because the population here of 20 and 30 something’s is so smart and interesting. From my eyes everyone just looks scared, is it because we have to go to work to support these older, very old fashioned people? Why aren’t we meeting more and talking about it then? its weird……..not to mention the insane out of balance female to male ratio. The commuter metro cars are packed wall to wall with polished, beautiful, educated women who honestly look really depressed. Can men with any viral potency not get jobs here? That wont surprise me considering DC is run by old men. They do not want competition. I cant take it guys. I gotta go back west. Its so creepy, the work force is an army of beautiful young supportive women.

    • The Sad Part Anna, for a man, it feels the opposite, that there are no women out there. I am a semi smart man and I have a good heart but I cant honestly say, I have met someone worth ever remembering. I have lived here all my life and to say that is very depressing. I rarely see smart women or interesting or even nice women. Lets forget about the soul mate thing for a second….

      The real problem with the Metro DC area is lack of culture or understanding of the people that live here. I have lived here all my life, and even as a young kid did not like the vibe this area gave me. I always was depressed by living here, it’s a combination of things but the main thing is lack of GREAT/GOOD people. People that inspire, that make you feel like your not alone. People have degraded, or my age is finally catching up to me, but every day, I feel alone. I don’t make many friends because I don’t trust many people around my location or do any people try to talk to me. Sure, life is about being alone and finding yourself, but at some point, you should meet people that encourage you or make you want to try harder in your life to be great. When that is lost, which in my opinion has been for a long time now, you start to hate everything about life. Even the small things make you sick, like waking up and going to work. Like going to do daily chores makes you frustrated, everything annoys you. I have had this feeling since I could remember, worse some years… Come the last 2 summers, I have had the pleasure of traveling to California. It was a blessing and a curse, blessing because I was able to feel such a different vibe. I felt happy and met some nice people for such a short period of time. By the time I got home, it was such a radical change, almost like a nightmare. The one thing that comes to mind is what puts what I have typed into retrospect, looking down at Virginia as we got close to landing at Dulles, I noticed how all these same houses were so separated from each other… Reminds me how far apart people really are from each other, not just logistically but as people. In order for all this to change, people need to come to terms with each other and learn to trust each other. Something that will never happen, so for now and forever, be a stranger…

    • I think that one of the things lacking In D.C, which you’ll find in most other small to large cities, is an arts scene. New York is New York and San Francisco is San Francisco, but D.C isn’t sexy enough to attract artist/creative types because it’s a stuffy, political city, not exactly the kind of place where creativity flows. It’s too expensive to attract wishful, low-paid artists, so the area attracts a lot of driven, type-A people who are intelligent and ambitious and interesting, but focused on making the world a better place, working on Capitol Hill, defending laws, etc. After lots of travel, I feel like that may be what makes D.C feel a bit oppressive.

Trackbacks

  1. Snow-birding in Arizona, Part I – My (Former) Nomad Life

Leave a Reply

