Kenilworth Park and Aquatic Gardens

Last year I did a lot of meetups, mostly hiking meetups because I really love walking/hiking but am scared to go on my own because of my terrible sense of direction. Also, I thought it would be a good way to meet outdoorsy-handy-type guys, but it turns out most outdoorsy guys don’t join social hiking groups. In my experience, I’ve found that mostly divorced, middle-aged ladies join social hiking groups.

But I still like hiking in a group once in a while and I signed up for an early morning walk last Sunday.  I have a terrible drop-out rate when it comes to these things and usually end up deciding not to go last minute, so I offered my driving services as a way to really lock myself in. Two people wanted rides so I was really committed and there was no getting out of it.  And it was actually kind of nice to chat it up with the two ladies I was transporting. One was a mostly silent 70ish lady with large pink glasses and a safari hat and the other was a bubbly, late-thirties, recent divorcee with OK Cupid horror stories. Really, I feel very lucky with my experiences compared to the guys this lady’s gone out with. I don’t know why I dread social situations so much…usually I end up having a nice time and wondering why I don’t do social things more often.

Anyway, the “hike” (more like casual stroll, perhaps due to all the elderly people in the group) was in Kenilworth Park and Aquatic Gardens, a really unique, interesting  and beautiful park in Northeast D.C. And it was lovely. As lovely as being in swamp on the Anacostia River in the middle of summer in D.C can be, at least. It’s not in the best neighborhood, but if you live in the D.C area I highly recommend it. Best to come early in the morning when the lotuses and lilies are in bloom and it’s not as hot and humid. I got lost in the flowers and small details and didn’t get any good pictures of the park , just a bunch of flower close ups. My sister’s company does a volunteer cleanup every year at Kenilworth Park and my says they find tons of syringes, so it’s probably not the kind of place you want to be after closing. That said, there were plenty of people there when I went in the morning and I felt perfectly safe.

Flower 12

You can’t really tell, but this is a pond/swamp type area with lots of lotuses and lily pads.

This is the only picture I actually took of the park as a whole. There are some short trails around the ponds/swamps and a boardwalk. I started taking pictures though and didn’t make it to the boardwalk.

flower 11

Pretty little flowers.

flower 10

Bright green leaf.

flower 8

Lotus, creepy cluster holes.

Flower 9

Kind of scary plant/flower.

flower 7 better than 6

Cute little bug

flower 5

Cute little hairy caterpillar.

Flower 4

Weed flower up close.

Flower 3

Very green buds.

FLOWER 1

More flowers up close.



Categories: D.C, D.C Sites and Places, DC Area Hiking, DC Area Outdoors Activities

Tags: , , , ,

8 replies

  1. Loved your closeups! The large green Lotus pod reminded me of a shower head. 🙂
    Thanks for the visit today!

  2. Beautiful photos! Gotta love meetup. I went to a meetup for a group for 20s-30s women and I was the youngest by like 20+ years (I’m 24). To make matters worse, they were all trolling for men. It was a pretty funny experience though.

    • Sounds like it would make a good blog entry! Some meet ups are ok…I do always feel like the youngest though!

      • I’m actually going to do a little series coming up soon. I’ve had several err.. interesting experiences, lol. I agree meetups can be cool, you just have to sift through a bunch of the first haha. I’m usually the youngest as well! Maybe we’re old souls, lol 🙂

  3. I think also a lot of meetups attract people who, for whatever reason, haven’t paired off. And I guess sometimes there is a reason. Not very nice (and I go to them so I guess I’m throwing myself in this category!) but that’s been my experience!

Leave a Reply

