Updates

My newest creation.

Here it is: My brand new, homemade, knitted scarf. My scarf cost COL$30,000 to make (Two classes with Alvaro and two balls of yarn) and I could have bought it for COL10,000 at a shop, but I am extremely proud of it despite the fact that I made lots of mistakes and it itches like crazy. It’s been a long time since I’ve learned something new, and it feels good to challenge myself for once. Next, I’ll learn to make a shawl. However, Alvaro’s crankiness is starting to get on my nerves, so I’m thinking about ditching Alvaro for a kinder, gentler teacher who doesn’t hate people and life. I hope everyone is looking forward to receiving a handmade knitted Christmas gift…Your other choice is a hand-painted napkin holder or birdhouse.

In other news, I went out to dinner with my friend Courtney on Wednesday. Our restaurant can best be described as Ocean City meets Texas grill meets Mexican fiesta parlor meets Karaoke Bar. In, fact, we were entertained to the sounds of old-time Latin ballads by four singers of various talent levels. Imagine the scene: Aside from the four karaoke singers, it’s just Courtney and I in a restaurant large enough for 200 people. There were Mexican-style doilies decorating the ceiling and a stage decorated by — yes, it’s true — an motorcycle and a harp. The place was a little darker than it should have been, and there was a massive leak right by our table. And of course, it was raining, so a small river formed by our table.



Categories: Bogota, Colombia, Colombian Food, Trying New Things

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. Can’t wait for my scarf! As for the restaurant… look at it this way… people pay lots of money here to dine by the water… you had it right at your table!

  2. Any specific scarf preferences?

Leave a Reply

