S.A.D

I got back from Arizona on Monday and soon after plunged into the darkness that is S.A.D. OK, I don’t know if I actually believe in S.A.D (seasonal affective disorder) and maybe I’m being just a little dramatic, but I do know that I enjoy life a lot more when it’s sunny and warm. After spending five glorious days in sunny and warm Phoenix, I wasn’t psychologically prepared to return to cold, rainy, cloudy and leafless Virginia. It’s hard to be cheerful when all the trees are bald, the sky is grey and the temperature is near freezing. Especially when you know it’s warm and sunny somewhere else. Only four more months until spring…

On Sunday the sun finally came out. It was too windy to do much outside, but my spirits lifted slightly. After waking up from a long nap (napping is one way to forget it’s cold outside) I spent my afternoon knitting a scarf and watching a documentary series called “Wild Latin America.” I’ve always believed I was born to a be a 65 year-old woman, so spending an afternoon knitting and watching nature documentaries in bed made for an excellent ending to my weekend.

The only thing I know how to knit are scarves. I always intend to give them away as presents, but then I get too attached. I can already tell I won't be able to part with this one.

The only thing I know how to knit are scarves. I always intend to give them away as presents, but then I get too attached. I can already tell I won’t be able to part with this one.

 

Anyway, the lesson in all of this is that maybe watching nature documentaries about warm places is all I need to lift my winter spirits. Yesterday I watched documentaries on the Andes, the Amazon, the Orinoco and Patagonia. I don’t recommend watching the Patagonia documentary  — it looks pretty cold and windy out there. But everywhere else looks nice and tropical. And if documentaries aren’t enough, I suppose I could always visit the U.S Botanic Garden and hang out in the rainforest and desert sections. Winter always reminds me I should never move further north.

Some anti-winter blues flowers.

Some anti-winter blues flowers.



Categories: Me, Me, Me

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

